DevHeads.net

Elisa is in kdereview

Hello,

Elisa is now in kdereview and aiming for extragear/multimedia.

It is a music player from a design from Andrew Lake.
It is using Qt multimedia for playback and a few KDE frameworks. Its UI is
using Qml.

Its aim is to be simple to use and hopefully in the future powerfull when
needed.

It should be usable without needing online services but will use them in the
future.

A few integration bits are missing with respect to Baloo before I can do a
release. Currently music can only be read if in its database that can be filled
by Baloo or a custom file indexer if Baloo is not there.

A broken and experimental support for UPnP DLNA exists and depends on an
external library not yet in KDE.

If the review succeed, I would like to have CI support for Elisa.

Thanks in advance for any review as this my first "real" project with Qml and
Qt.

Best regards

Comments

Re: Elisa is in kdereview

By Andreas Schneider at 07/05/2017 - 03:25

On Friday, 16 June 2017 22:44:03 CEST Matthieu Gallien wrote:
Hi Matthieu,

the rendering looks horrible on a HiDPI display, especially the fonts.

I think Lukas can help you fixing it. He is wokring on HiDPI support.

<a href="https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BwXqDXwyptm8eEo5bjdZRzZTQkk/view" title="https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BwXqDXwyptm8eEo5bjdZRzZTQkk/view">https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BwXqDXwyptm8eEo5bjdZRzZTQkk/view</a>

Cheers,

Andreas

Re: Elisa is in kdereview

By Matthieu Gallien at 07/05/2017 - 14:33

On mercredi 5 juillet 2017 10:25:37 CEST Andreas Schneider wrote:
Hello Andreas,

I would be happy to get help on this subject since I do not have any hardware
to test. For example, if you have any snapshots, I would be very interested.

I did start using the facilities in qml to scale things depending on the DPI
of the screen. I had to remove that since some TV screens report erroneous
data.

I did not yet clearly understood what needs to be done for a QtQuick Controls
v1 application to support HighDPI. For example, I do not yet know if I should
use Qt::AA_EnableHighDpiScaling or not.

Feel free to contact me for any help I can provide.

Best regards

Re: Elisa is in kdereview

By Andreas Schneider at 07/06/2017 - 01:37

On Wednesday, 5 July 2017 21:33:30 CEST Matthieu Gallien wrote:
I think you should, at least according to:

<a href="https://doc.qt.io/qt-5/highdpi.html" title="https://doc.qt.io/qt-5/highdpi.html">https://doc.qt.io/qt-5/highdpi.html</a>

Andreas

Re: Elisa is in kdereview

By Matthieu Gallien at 07/06/2017 - 10:19

On jeudi 6 juillet 2017 08:37:05 CEST Andreas Schneider wrote:
But according to <a href="https://doc.qt.io/qt-5/qtquickcontrols2-highdpi.html" title="https://doc.qt.io/qt-5/qtquickcontrols2-highdpi.html">https://doc.qt.io/qt-5/qtquickcontrols2-highdpi.html</a> the
controls v1 does not support Qt automatic HighDPI scaling.

Re: Elisa is in kdereview

By Albert Astals Cid at 06/21/2017 - 16:01

El divendres, 16 de juny de 2017, a les 22:44:03 CEST, Matthieu Gallien va
escriure:
That's kind of a weird design decision, basically i started elisa, it didn't
see any of my music, i didn't find a way to add it, so i removed elisa.

That'd be my workflow as a regular user.

Cheers,
Albert

Re: Elisa is in kdereview

By Matthieu Gallien at 06/21/2017 - 16:15

Hello,
On mercredi 21 juin 2017 23:01:23 CEST Albert Astals Cid wrote:
It is not a design decision but the current state. I want to also support the
"let's play this file now" use case. I just had not yet enough time to do it.

I am also planning to add a "busy" indicator to show that Elisa is currently
getting tracks from Baloo or default music directory (as per QStandardPaths).
If no music is found, I also want to add a passive notification offering the
possibility to configure the path to use to search music. I even have a task in
phabricator for that.

I am already convinced that first impression is important. At the same time, I
did request to move to extragear to get covered by CI and to get feedback from
kde-core-devel.

By the way, did you build Elisa with Baloo ?

Best regards

Re: Elisa is in kdereview

By Albert Astals Cid at 06/25/2017 - 11:29

El dimecres, 21 de juny de 2017, a les 23:15:58 CEST, Matthieu Gallien va
escriure:
Yes

Cheers,
Albert

Re: Elisa is in kdereview

By Matthieu Gallien at 06/27/2017 - 15:07

Hello,
On dimanche 25 juin 2017 18:29:45 CEST Albert Astals Cid wrote:
I am working on solutions to address missing feedback and providing hints
about the configuration options that may help fixing missing music or other
problems.

I really would like to understand why your music was not seen by Elisa. Is it
possible for you to try again and maybe ping me on IRC to get your logs ?

If Baloo is able to found your music, it should be discovered by Elisa and if
it is not the case, I have a bug to fix.

Re: Elisa is in kdereview

By Harald Sitter at 06/23/2017 - 08:21

On Wed, Jun 21, 2017 at 11:15 PM, Matthieu Gallien
<gallien. ... at gmail dot com> wrote:
I think it's fine. Not perfect, but good enough for starters.
The error case handling could definitely be better (no baloo database,
indexing in progress, baloo disabled, baloo broken, no music in
database).

User experience quirks aside, Elisa seems to be in really good shape.
Builds. Plays music. I18n seems to be in order as well.

HS

Re: Elisa is in kdereview

By Matthieu Gallien at 07/17/2017 - 04:22

Hello,

On vendredi 23 juin 2017 15:21:49 CEST Harald Sitter wrote:
I am still working on improving those lacking areas. I am currently
integrating KConfig for configuration especially of the file indexers.
The next step is to provide more user notifications about what happen (and not
just a busy indicator when waiting music to be indexed).
Due to holydays and being busy with real life, this could take a few weeks to
land in a finished state. Should Elisa stay in review or move back to
playground ?

Thanks for your review and sorry for the late reply.

Best regards

Re: Elisa is in kdereview

By Albert Astals Cid at 07/29/2017 - 04:47

El dilluns, 17 de juliol de 2017, a les 11:22:15 CEST, Matthieu Gallien va
escriure:
At Akademy we codified a project should not stay in kdereview for more than
two months, this should give you some rule of thumb of whether we should bring
it back to playground or not.

Cheers,
Albert

Re: Elisa is in kdereview

By Matthieu Gallien at 07/31/2017 - 16:56

Hello,

On samedi 29 juillet 2017 11:47:03 CEST Albert Astals Cid wrote:
Thanks for the information.

I think I will request to move back to playground since I am sure that the
maximum delay will be reached by Elisa even if I finish fixing the reported
issues quickly ?

I am sorry for the extra work for others.

Best regards

Re: Elisa is in kdereview

By Albert Astals Cid at 06/19/2017 - 17:44

El divendres, 16 de juny de 2017, a les 22:44:03 CEST, Matthieu Gallien va escriure:
Doesn't compile.

/home/kdeunstable/elisa/src/baloo/localbaloofilelisting.cpp: In member function ‘virtual MusicAudioTrack LocalBalooFileListing::scanOneFile(const QUrl&)’:
/home/kdeunstable/elisa/src/baloo/localbaloofilelisting.cpp:153:50: error: ‘DiscNumber’ is not a member of ‘KFileMetaData::Property’
auto discNumberProperty = allProperties.find(KFileMetaData::Property::DiscNumber);

I guess you need to increase some of your dependencies version requirements?

Cheers,
Albert

Re: Elisa is in kdereview

By Matthieu Gallien at 06/19/2017 - 23:30

On mardi 20 juin 2017 00:44:49 CEST Albert Astals Cid wrote:
Fixed, I was off by one.

Best regards