DevHeads.net

Plasma 5.2 bits for kdereview

Plasma 5.2 is due out next month and there's a few KDE projects which would
be good to be included. Please review these for inclusion in
kde/workspace..

Bluedevil frameworks branch by David Rosca
<a href="https://projects.kde.org/projects/extragear/base/bluedevil" title="https://projects.kde.org/projects/extragear/base/bluedevil">https://projects.kde.org/projects/extragear/base/bluedevil</a>
<a href="https://projects.kde.org/projects/playground/libs/libbluedevil" title="https://projects.kde.org/projects/playground/libs/libbluedevil">https://projects.kde.org/projects/playground/libs/libbluedevil</a>

User-manager frameworks port (it overlaps a little with account details kcm
but is mostly an admin tool)
<a href="https://projects.kde.org/projects/playground/base/user-manager" title="https://projects.kde.org/projects/playground/base/user-manager">https://projects.kde.org/projects/playground/base/user-manager</a>

kscreen and libkscreen maintained by Dan Vrátil. libkscreen is already
released with Plasma but isn't in kde/workspace.
<a href="https://projects.kde.org/projects/extragear/libs/libkscreen" title="https://projects.kde.org/projects/extragear/libs/libkscreen">https://projects.kde.org/projects/extragear/libs/libkscreen</a>
<a href="https://projects.kde.org/projects/extragear/base/kscreen" title="https://projects.kde.org/projects/extragear/base/kscreen">https://projects.kde.org/projects/extragear/base/kscreen</a>

ModemManagerQt, already released with Plasma, makes sense to move to
kde/workspace (libnm-qt is moving to frameworks)
<a href="https://projects.kde.org/projects/extragear/libs/libmm-qt" title="https://projects.kde.org/projects/extragear/libs/libmm-qt">https://projects.kde.org/projects/extragear/libs/libmm-qt</a>

Touchpad KCM, ported to KF5 by Rajeesh K Nambiar
<a href="https://projects.kde.org/projects/playground/utils/kcm-touchpad" title="https://projects.kde.org/projects/playground/utils/kcm-touchpad">https://projects.kde.org/projects/playground/utils/kcm-touchpad</a>

sddm-kcm is already in
<a href="http://thread.gmane.org/gmane.comp.kde.devel.core/84629" title="http://thread.gmane.org/gmane.comp.kde.devel.core/84629">http://thread.gmane.org/gmane.comp.kde.devel.core/84629</a>

polkit-kde already requested on this list
<a href="http://thread.gmane.org/gmane.comp.kde.devel.general/68224/focus=85357" title="http://thread.gmane.org/gmane.comp.kde.devel.general/68224/focus=85357">http://thread.gmane.org/gmane.comp.kde.devel.general/68224/focus=85357</a>

It has also been suggested that ksshaskpass should moved to kde/workspace
for release with Plasma (currently it has no home and is looking for one),
anyone have an opinion on whether it should be part of the desktop or
applications?
<a href="http://thread.gmane.org/gmane.comp.kde.devel.core/85039" title="http://thread.gmane.org/gmane.comp.kde.devel.core/85039">http://thread.gmane.org/gmane.comp.kde.devel.core/85039</a>

I'll ask for the ones in playground to be moved to kdereview now so URLs
may change.

Jonathan

Comments

Re: Plasma 5.2 bits for kdereview

By Albert Astals Cid at 01/01/2015 - 10:42

El Divendres, 19 de desembre de 2014, a les 17:27:01, Jonathan Riddell va
escriure:
Can i ask this to never happen again? I'd very much prefer separate emails
sent by the maintainers of the apps, it makes everything much easier to skim
throught emails and realize i want to act if i see an email that says
"Touchpad KCM for Plasma 5.2" than if i see a "Plasma 5.2 bits" email.

Cheers,
Albert

Re: Plasma 5.2 bits for kdereview

By Luigi Toscano at 01/01/2015 - 10:27

Jonathan Riddell ha scritto:
This has been moved, but master is still kdelibs4-based.
- Is it going to change?
- Is there a final kdelibs4-based branch that can be tracked for the time
being into the stable kdelibs4 l10n branch as extragear-base?

Ciao and happy new year!

Re: Plasma 5.2 bits for kdereview

By Luigi Toscano at 12/19/2014 - 12:46

Jonathan Riddell ha scritto:
I disagree with moving libkscreen to kde/workspace. It is a dependency for at
least one application (Okular), which has no Framework version for now but it
will have it. It would make more sense to have libkscreen in Frameworks, like
libnm*

I won't be able to move translations today. If anyone else can do it, please
do - or move the move to tomorrow.

Ciao

Re: Plasma 5.2 bits for kdereview

By Vishesh Handa at 12/22/2014 - 06:29

On Fri, Dec 19, 2014 at 6:46 PM, Luigi Toscano <luigi. ... at tiscali dot it>
wrote:

This one is problematic. We cannot just ship both.

They both overall to a large extent however the and user-manager doesn't
actually write to the kde config files for setting the full name + email.
We use that for bugzilla reports, kdevelop templates and a few other cases.

Also there is that hold one-bullet/vs-three/vs-none of password dialogs.
I'm fairly certain that is broken, but I need to test it out.

Re: Plasma 5.2 bits for kdereview

By Dan Vratil at 12/23/2014 - 07:17

On Friday, December 19, 2014 06:46:11 PM Luigi Toscano wrote:
AFAIK Okular is using KScreen only to get DPI info, which was not provided by
QScreen in Qt 4. In Qt 5 you already have DPI API in QScreen, so you should
not need KScreen anymore.

Dan

Re: Plasma 5.2 bits for kdereview

By Luigi Toscano at 12/23/2014 - 08:21

Daniel Vrátil ha scritto:
Good to know, my point was that a library, which is not tied to a specific
desktop shell, could/should be useful for every application.

Your answer makes me wonder why libkscreen functionalities couldn't land into
QScreen itself, but I miss too many details from both components.

Ciao

Re: Plasma 5.2 bits for kdereview

By Albert Astals Cid at 01/01/2015 - 10:56

El Dimarts, 23 de desembre de 2014, a les 13:17:46, Daniel Vrátil va escriure:
It is provided by QX11Info in Qt4, it's just wrong, does QScreen provide it
correctly like kscreen does?

Cheers,
Albert

Re: Plasma 5.2 bits for kdereview

By Sebastian =?utf... at 12/23/2014 - 08:51

On Friday, December 19, 2014 18:46:11 Luigi Toscano wrote:
libkscreen is not ready for that, currently. It's not API stable enough to
warrant such a step. It is used mainly in Plasma, but also by others (you name
Okular). I don't see that as a problem, you won't have to install all of
Plasma just to get libkscreen. It's at least a much better place to be grouped
under than "playground".

If you're still against moving it from playground, where would you rather see
it?

Cheers,

Re: Plasma 5.2 bits for kdereview

By Luigi Toscano at 12/23/2014 - 09:09

Sebastian Kügler ha scritto:
I'm not sure that playground is the right place (even if "extragear" is more
appropriate, given that it's a software with regular releases).
libkscreen is in the same situation of baloo: not a Frameworks, but a generic
library that can be used by applications. Right now baloo is in the "kdelibs"
module, which is an unfortunate event too IMHO.

On the other side we have something like phonon, which is kdesupport.

It's a bit complicated situation. I think that we miss - or we should even
discuss - the placement of common libraries which are useful for everyone, but
they not stable enough to be part of Frameworks (the proper place). We have
some libraries in submodules, see kdegraphics or kdeedu for example, but
sometimes the boundary is a bit blurry, see the discussion about the placement
for libkgeomap on kde-core-devel@.

What's wrong with extragear/libs in the first place for those libraries?
Otherwise, a generic common-libs namespace ? Or some other name ("libs" enough
is a bit too generic maybe).

Ciao

Re: Plasma 5.2 bits for kdereview

By Jonathan Riddell at 01/06/2015 - 09:10

Updates on this..

I plan to ask for Bluedevil and libbluedevil, libkscreen and kscreen,
libmm-qt and ksshaskpass to be moved. I see some comments that the
libraries may be used outside of Plasma but there's no problem with
that happening, they don't quality for frameworks and they already get
released with Plasma so it's just an update in projects.kde.org

user-manager looks like it could do with KConfig::KEMailSettings
ported and then Account Details done away with, I'll keep it in
kdereview for now.

kcm-touchpad needs the feature of the shortcut for ktouchpadenabler
taken and ktouchpadenabler disabled, I'll keep it in kdereview for
now.

polkit-kde is already in and has now been merged so master is KF5.

Jonathan

Re: Plasma 5.2 bits for kdereview

By Luigi Toscano at 01/06/2015 - 09:23

Jonathan Riddell ha scritto:
That's the same point as baloo, discussed on kde-frameworks-devel right now, then.

I still disagree, from a logical point of view those libraries could be needed
both for Applications and Plasma "products". As you said they are not
frameworks, and I still think we need to investigate how to place this kind of
libraries. If you don't want to depend on libraries on extragear-libs, maybe a
new module? Again, it's the same as the baloo placement problem IMHO.

Asking again:
- Is there a final kdelibs4-based branch that can be tracked for the time
being into the stable kdelibs4 l10n branch? Should this stay as
extragear-base, given that kde-workspace is frozen in kdelibs4?

Ciao

Re: Plasma 5.2 bits for kdereview

By Jan Grulich at 01/07/2015 - 08:28

On Tuesday 06 of January 2015 14:10 Jonathan Riddell wrote:
Regarding libmm-qt, I don't think it will become a framework any time soon. I
need to find some time to write unit tests, also the API need some proper
review and I will need to update it to the latest ModemManager, which means
also that the API could change as we based it on the first release of MM 1.0
which dramatically changed ModemManager API on DBus. Given this, I would keep
libmm-qt as part of Plasma 5.2 release.

Touchpad KCM - was - Re: Plasma 5.2 bits for kdereview

By Albert Astals Cid at 01/01/2015 - 10:50

El Divendres, 19 de desembre de 2014, a les 17:27:01, Jonathan Riddell va
escriure:
This is not a kcm, it's a kcm + a kded.

The kded is partly conflicting with what ktouchpadenabler does (it's doing it
worse though since the proper shortcuts are not set).

I understand you guys have decided to remove ktouchpadenabler when merging
this.

I have no time to try this, but can you please at least fix the shortcuts?

Cheers,
Albert

Re: Touchpad KCM - was - Re: Plasma 5.2 bits for kdereview

By david at 01/01/2015 - 14:39

FWIW, it's not merged yet.
It's not going to be part of 5.2 unless the rest of my review comments
(other thread) are addressed within the next few days.

Re: Touchpad KCM - was - Re: Plasma 5.2 bits for kdereview

By Rajeesh K Nambiar at 01/12/2015 - 14:49

On Thu, Jan 1, 2015 at 8:39 PM, David Edmundson
< ... at davidedmundson dot co.uk> wrote:
I know nothing about touchpads, just tried to port it to KF5 :-)
I have adapted the logic to set shortcuts from ktouchpadenabler and
attached in this bug report -
<a href="https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=342629" title="https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=342629">https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=342629</a>
Could you take a look if this is okay/sufficient?