DevHeads.net

Review Request 111633: Update announced KDE version / required Qt version

Review request for Build System, kdelibs and Alexander Neundorf.

Description
Not sure at which point in time we update the KDE version.

Additionally, I changed the required Qt version, in the hope that build system maintainers find more spots where version updates might be required.

Diffs
cmake/modules/FindKDE4Internal.cmake 98a6f48

Diff: <a href="http://git.reviewboard.kde.org/r/111633/diff/" title="http://git.reviewboard.kde.org/r/111633/diff/">http://git.reviewboard.kde.org/r/111633/diff/</a>

Testing

Thanks,

Christoph Feck

Comments

Re: Review Request 111633: Update announced KDE version / requir

By Commit Hook at 07/23/2013 - 06:32

(Updated July 23, 2013, 11:32 a.m.)

Status
This change has been marked as submitted.

Review request for Build System, kdelibs and Alexander Neundorf.

Description
Not sure at which point in time we update the KDE version.

Additionally, I changed the required Qt version, in the hope that build system maintainers find more spots where version updates might be required.

Diffs
cmake/modules/FindKDE4Internal.cmake 98a6f48

Diff: <a href="http://git.reviewboard.kde.org/r/111633/diff/" title="http://git.reviewboard.kde.org/r/111633/diff/">http://git.reviewboard.kde.org/r/111633/diff/</a>

Testing

Thanks,

Christoph Feck

Re: Review Request 111633: Update announced KDE version / requir

By Commit Hook at 07/23/2013 - 06:32

This review has been submitted with commit 05fd1dce17c10ec6505ea3fa7de87842abe399bf by Christoph Feck to branch KDE/4.11.

- Commit Hook

On July 21, 2013, 4:40 p.m., Christoph Feck wrote:

Re: Review Request 111633: Update announced KDE version / requir

By Alexander Neundorf at 07/22/2013 - 15:13

Ship it!

Yes, it was simply forgotten.

- Alexander Neundorf

On July 21, 2013, 4:40 p.m., Christoph Feck wrote:

Re: Review Request 111633: Update announced KDE version / requir

By Albert Astals Cid at 07/22/2013 - 13:27

Ship it!

Ok, you convinced me. Let's go for it.

- Albert Astals Cid

On July 21, 2013, 4:40 p.m., Christoph Feck wrote:

Re: Review Request 111633: Update announced KDE version / requir

By Albert Astals Cid at 07/21/2013 - 11:47

Is that qt change really needed? Otherwise we are a bit past the dependency freeze

- Albert Astals Cid

On July 21, 2013, 4:40 p.m., Christoph Feck wrote:

Re: Review Request 111633: Update announced KDE version / requir

By Christoph Feck at 07/21/2013 - 18:03

As far as I understand r1023024, the check here was added to allow to require a higher version than kdelibs does, e.g. today an application could require Qt 4.8.2, e.g. because of bugs with older Qt versions, while kdelibs itself just mandates 4.8.0.

Also, if you compile your program against Qt 4.5 you can get missing symbols when running it, because kdelibs was linked against Qt 4.8. See also r927156.

On the other hand, if we allowed that before, we can keep it. I just had the impression it was simply forgotten to be updated.

- Christoph

On July 21, 2013, 4:40 p.m., Christoph Feck wrote:

Re: Review Request 111633: Update announced KDE version / requir

By Albert Astals Cid at 07/21/2013 - 17:39

But isn't the content of CMakeLists.txt for kdelibs and the content in that file for something using kdelibs, right? Do we need to mandate 4.8 on them too? In other words, could i compile a program against qt 4.5 and a kdelibs compiled with qt 4.8?

- Albert

On July 21, 2013, 4:40 p.m., Christoph Feck wrote:

Re: Review Request 111633: Update announced KDE version / requir

By Christoph Feck at 07/21/2013 - 12:02

CMakeLists.txt already requires Qt 4.8.0.

- Christoph

On July 21, 2013, 4:40 p.m., Christoph Feck wrote: