DevHeads.net

Review Request: Device notifier: show mounted device and path

Review request for KDE Base Apps and Plasma.

Description
If a removable device is mounted using the Plasma device notifier, there is no indication of what the Unix name of the device is or where it is mounted. This information may be useful to the user for (a) accessing the mounted device from non-KDE applications, or (b) troubleshooting mounting or unmounting problems.

The attached patch shows this information when the device is hovered over, just above the "N actions for this device" text. Depending on whether or not the device is mounted, there are three possibilities that can be shown here:

/dev/XXX when not mounted
/dev/XXX mounted on /media/YYYY when mounted
/dev/XXX mounted if mounted but the mount point is not available

Please be gentle, this is my first QML patch :-)

This addresses bug 196939.
<a href="http://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=196939" title="http://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=196939">http://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=196939</a>

Diffs
plasma/generic/applets/devicenotifier/package/contents/ui/DeviceItem.qml 2a9b3f7

Diff: <a href="http://git.reviewboard.kde.org/r/106755/diff/" title="http://git.reviewboard.kde.org/r/106755/diff/">http://git.reviewboard.kde.org/r/106755/diff/</a>

Testing
Built kde-workspace with this change, observed operation and display of device notifier with a selection of removable devices.

Screenshots
Device notifier with mounted device
<a href="http://git.reviewboard.kde.org/r/106755/s/756/" title="http://git.reviewboard.kde.org/r/106755/s/756/">http://git.reviewboard.kde.org/r/106755/s/756/</a>

Thanks,

Jonathan Marten

Comments

Re: Review Request: Device notifier: show mounted device and pat

By Jonathan Marten at 10/08/2012 - 04:31

(Updated Oct. 8, 2012, 9:31 a.m.)

Review request for KDE Base Apps and Plasma.

Changes
Accepted that the /dev/XXXX name is technical information and usually not useful to the user. However, the mount point is (especially in the case of needing to access the device from non-KDE applications); most distros are standardised on /media/LABEL now but, even if the user knows that, the device label is nowhere currently available in the GUI.

The updated patch shows a tool tip over the device label. It can say one of:

Not mounted
Mounted on /media/YYYY
Mounted

It could be argued that the word "mount" is technical jargon and should not be used, but I can't think of a suitable alternative (and "mount" is the term used elsewhere).

Agreed that the best resolution for "can't unmount" would be to show applications or processes that are blocking the mount, but implementing that is not trivial (as discussed in bug 96107).

Not convinced that the place to find this information is another Properties dialogue, especially if it it necessary to open or go to another application - in this case the user may as well open a terminal window and type 'df' or 'mount'...

Description
If a removable device is mounted using the Plasma device notifier, there is no indication of what the Unix name of the device is or where it is mounted. This information may be useful to the user for (a) accessing the mounted device from non-KDE applications, or (b) troubleshooting mounting or unmounting problems.

The attached patch shows this information when the device is hovered over, just above the "N actions for this device" text. Depending on whether or not the device is mounted, there are three possibilities that can be shown here:

/dev/XXX when not mounted
/dev/XXX mounted on /media/YYYY when mounted
/dev/XXX mounted if mounted but the mount point is not available

Please be gentle, this is my first QML patch :-)

This addresses bug 196939.
<a href="http://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=196939" title="http://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=196939">http://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=196939</a>

Diffs (updated)
plasma/generic/applets/devicenotifier/package/contents/ui/DeviceItem.qml 396de2c

Diff: <a href="http://git.reviewboard.kde.org/r/106755/diff/" title="http://git.reviewboard.kde.org/r/106755/diff/">http://git.reviewboard.kde.org/r/106755/diff/</a>

Testing
Built kde-workspace with this change, observed operation and display of device notifier with a selection of removable devices.

Screenshots
Device notifier with mounted device
<a href="http://git.reviewboard.kde.org/r/106755/s/756/" title="http://git.reviewboard.kde.org/r/106755/s/756/">http://git.reviewboard.kde.org/r/106755/s/756/</a>

Thanks,

Jonathan Marten

Re: Review Request: Device notifier: show mounted device and pat

By Jonathan Marten at 10/12/2012 - 04:41

(Updated Oct. 12, 2012, 9:41 a.m.)

Review request for KDE Base Apps and Plasma.

Changes
Here's the ultimate minimal version - showing the mount point info in the hover tooltip over the free space bar.

Description
If a removable device is mounted using the Plasma device notifier, there is no indication of what the Unix name of the device is or where it is mounted. This information may be useful to the user for (a) accessing the mounted device from non-KDE applications, or (b) troubleshooting mounting or unmounting problems.

The attached patch shows this information when the device is hovered over, just above the "N actions for this device" text. Depending on whether or not the device is mounted, there are three possibilities that can be shown here:

/dev/XXX when not mounted
/dev/XXX mounted on /media/YYYY when mounted
/dev/XXX mounted if mounted but the mount point is not available

Please be gentle, this is my first QML patch :-)

This addresses bug 196939.
<a href="http://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=196939" title="http://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=196939">http://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=196939</a>

Diffs (updated)
plasma/generic/applets/devicenotifier/package/contents/ui/DeviceItem.qml 2a9b3f7

Diff: <a href="http://git.reviewboard.kde.org/r/106755/diff/" title="http://git.reviewboard.kde.org/r/106755/diff/">http://git.reviewboard.kde.org/r/106755/diff/</a>

Testing
Built kde-workspace with this change, observed operation and display of device notifier with a selection of removable devices.

Screenshots (updated)
Device notifier with mounted device
<a href="http://git.reviewboard.kde.org/r/106755/s/756/" title="http://git.reviewboard.kde.org/r/106755/s/756/">http://git.reviewboard.kde.org/r/106755/s/756/</a>
Tooltip with mounted device
<a href="http://git.reviewboard.kde.org/r/106755/s/769/" title="http://git.reviewboard.kde.org/r/106755/s/769/">http://git.reviewboard.kde.org/r/106755/s/769/</a>

Thanks,

Jonathan Marten

Re: Review Request: Device notifier: show mounted device and pat

By Sebastian =?utf... at 10/12/2012 - 08:34

Screenshot: Tooltip with mounted device
<http://git.reviewboard.kde.org//r/106755/#scomment101>
This tooltip looks really odd and out of place this way.:/

- Sebastian Kügler

On Oct. 12, 2012, 9:41 a.m., Jonathan Marten wrote:

Re: Review Request: Device notifier: show mounted device and pat

By Aaron J. Seigo at 10/12/2012 - 19:33

303934 is a completely different issue (looks like a compositing manager error).

and i suppose i wasn't clear enough in my previous comments: a patch introducing this approach will not be accepted. i have described a more sensible method.

- Aaron J.

On Oct. 12, 2012, 9:41 a.m., Jonathan Marten wrote:

Re: Review Request: Device notifier: show mounted device and pat

By Lamarque V. Souza at 10/12/2012 - 08:42

The transparency effect does not look good here. I would like to know how to disable it too, there is this bug against the QML shutdown dialog with the same problem: <a href="https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=303934" title="https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=303934">https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=303934</a>

- Lamarque Vieira

On Oct. 12, 2012, 9:41 a.m., Jonathan Marten wrote:

Re: Review Request: Device notifier: show mounted device and pat

By Sebastian =?utf... at 10/12/2012 - 08:56

On Friday, October 12, 2012 13:42:35 Lamarque Vieira Souza wrote:
No, I'm not talking about the translucency, I'm talking about having a tooltip
on top of a popup, that's weird (and IMO a showstopper).

Re: Review Request: Device notifier: show mounted device and pat

By Jacopo De Simoi at 10/12/2012 - 14:02

On Friday 12 October 2012 15:56:18 Sebastian Kügler wrote:
Well, the notifier already shows several tooltips as it is now.
- one appearing when hovering over the device icon
- one appearing when hovering over the mount/unmount action
- one appearing when hovering over the capacity bar

People were complaining about icons not being informative enough, hence we had
to add tooltips here and there :/

Any suggestion to improve the current state is most welcome :)

__J

Re: Review Request: Device notifier: show mounted device and pat

By Aaron J. Seigo at 10/08/2012 - 04:52

any application which expects the user to access files on disk but does not provide a clear representation of mounted / removable devices is broken. there's no point in degrading our own primary UI for such fixable brokenness. can you provide a (short :) list of any such broken applications which are high-profile / in common use?

- Aaron J. Seigo

On Oct. 8, 2012, 9:31 a.m., Jonathan Marten wrote:

Re: Review Request: Device notifier: show mounted device and pat

By Aaron J. Seigo at 10/12/2012 - 19:37

Mozilla and L/O-Office both use the KDE provided file dialogs here, and that is because I am using an OS that does good integration (openSUSE in this case; though certainly not the only one). Google Earth also ought to if it is using Qt with the platform plugin support. GIMP, well, lost causes abound I suppose. but it is not nearly the horror show that it may seem to be. And yes, such applications are broken by design, and no, I won't lower Plasma to their standards. We've been through this same sort of situation before: when we bow to the lowest common denominator, nothing improves; when we keep our own standards, other projects rise to them. (Even if it takes time)

- Aaron J.

On Oct. 12, 2012, 9:41 a.m., Jonathan Marten wrote:

Re: Review Request: Device notifier: show mounted device and pat

By Jacopo De Simoi at 10/11/2012 - 06:34

My point was rather to stuff that information in some --already present-- tooltip, such as the one appearing hovering over the capacity bar or the device icon.
But yes this is indeed still visually unpleasant. Besides, I agree with Aaron about creating some “Technical info” pane with all this information, which could be triggered by context menu.
I do not want to clutter the ui any further. It's already pretty full.

Cheers

- Jacopo De

On Oct. 8, 2012, 9:31 a.m., Jonathan Marten wrote:

Re: Review Request: Device notifier: show mounted device and pat

By Jonathan Marten at 10/09/2012 - 03:56

I think too that nested popups/tooltips look inelegant, but since it was Jacopo's suggestion I though it may be at least worth trying it out...

In my experience hardly any non-KDE applications are able to show or control the mounting of removable devices - most of them stick to the hopeless Gnome file selector, and not all of them can be made to work well with KDE integration. Certainly in my daily use neither mozilla, libreoffice/openoffice, gimp or googleearth identify removable devices. Inkscape is the only major application that at least tries. They are indeed broken (by design), but they are unlikely to be fixed before the heat death of the universe.

- Jonathan

On Oct. 8, 2012, 9:31 a.m., Jonathan Marten wrote:

Re: Review Request: Device notifier: show mounted device and pat

By Aaron J. Seigo at 10/08/2012 - 04:54

ah, and i should also add that tooltips on items in popup windows as it leads to a matryoshka doll effect that is most inelegant visually, so we try to avoid such things unless there is a very good reason for them.

- Aaron J.

On Oct. 8, 2012, 9:31 a.m., Jonathan Marten wrote:

Re: Review Request: Device notifier: show mounted device and pat

By Jacopo De Simoi at 10/07/2012 - 10:32

I do not want the notifier to show this information in the device view; indeed, for devices with a label, the mount point is /media/<label>, so the information about the mount point would look like quite redundant.
Perhaps you could show it in a tooltip, instead; that would be acceptable imho

In any case, the “trouble with unmounting” usecase should be resolved in some other way (e.g. by making use of lsof in solid to identify blocking apps), so I am not super-sure that the user should be given such specific information as /dev/xxxx.

- Jacopo De Simoi

On Oct. 7, 2012, 2:55 p.m., Jonathan Marten wrote:

Re: Review Request: Device notifier: show mounted device and pat

By Aaron J. Seigo at 10/07/2012 - 12:26

agreed. this is debugging info and as such would be visual noise 99%+ of the time. worse yet, this is jargon, the kind of thing we don't want to shove in the average user's face.

as an alternative, this information could go into a Properties dialog that is accessible from the Devices section of Places (e.g. what Dolphin uses in its sidebar)

- Aaron J.

On Oct. 7, 2012, 2:55 p.m., Jonathan Marten wrote: